Skip to content

Due to building maintenance at our Aurora office through early June, if you would like to visit, please call us to verify availability unless you have a pre-scheduled appointment.  We apologize for any inconvenience.

Community Foundation Directors

Throughout our history, the Foundation has been governed by outstanding business and community leaders. We are pleased to acknowledge each of our directors who have served our organization. Those who agreed to serve in an emeritus or senior position after the completion of their traditional terms are designated below. Those who are deceased are designated by an asterisk *.


Duncan Alexander (2013-Present)
* George H. Alexander (Senior Director) (1954-1986) (1986-1988)
Thomas S. Alexander (1985-2001) (2004-2013)
Anne C. Alschuler (1984-1999)
Cristina S.T. Anderson (2009-2018)
Roger O. Anderson (1990-2000) (2005-2014)
* Stephen J. Andras (1976-1988)
Ralph A. Andreasen (1975-1987)
* Norman P. Bachert (1959-1980)
Daniel Barreiro (2001-2011)
* John G. Baumgartner (1965-1973)
Gretta E. Bieber (1997-2007)
Kathryn Birkett, PhD (2019-Present)
* Mary Healy Blackburn (1992-2001)
Lourdes “Lulu” Blacksmith, EdD (2018-Present)
Hilary K. Brennan (1986-1998) (1999-2009)
* Robert E. Brent (2005-2013)
Hon. F. Keith Brown (ret.) (2015-2020)
Jessica Breugelmans (2021-Present)
* C.M. Burgess (1964-1972)
Jeff Cali (2018-Present)
* Warren F. Cannon (1999-2009)
* James S. Copley (1960-1973)
* Homer D. Critton (1953-1954) (1956-1968)
* Gordon S. Culver (1953-1977)
* John W. Curley (1988-1989)
* L.D. Deal (1957-1964)
* Donald J. DeFrates (1959-1967)
* William C. Deisher (1984-1990)
Austin M. Dempsey (2014-Present)
* Walter E. Deuchler (Senior Director) (1959-1975) (1975-1978)
John Diederich (2013-Present)
Dana N. Dobosz (2017-2018)


Jim Eccher (2018-Present)
Patricia Fabian (2007-2016)
Thomas L. Fisher (1994-2004)
* Henry C. Fletcher (1983-1989)
Marilyn A. Foote (1986-1999) (2001-2011)
* Ruby M. Frank (1985-1997)
Stan Free (2018-Present)
* F. James Garbe (1974-1995) (1999-2009)
* Howard E. Gillette
(Senior Director)
(1968-1990) (1990-1997)
* William C. Glenn (1987-1999)
* Irene Goldman (1985-1995)
* Anne S. Goldsmith (2000-2009)
Bruce L. Goldsmith (1997-2007)
* Anthony S. Greene (1982-1984)
* William B. Greene (Senior Director) (1948-1975) (1975-1982)
* Karl P. Grube (Senior Director) (1962-1986) (1986-1989)
Rick Guzman (2013-Present)
* Vernon H. Haase (Senior Director) (1970-1995) (1995-1997)
Jane W. Harris (2011-2018)
* William M. Hart (1952-1962)
Joyce Hemphill, PhD (2018-Present)
* Barbara H. Henning (1979-1991)
* Peter H. Henning (1998-2008)
David B. Hipp (1989-2005)
* Charles W. Hoefer (1948-1952)
Robert J. Hollis (2016-Present)
Patty Hoppenstedt (2017-2018)
Robert P. Hubbard (1999-2011)


James R. Irving (1989-1996)
* J.C. James (1954-1969)
* Justus L. Johnson (1948-1956)
* Malcolm L. Jones (Senior Director) (1964-1979) (1979-1997)
Darrell L. Jordan (1985-1998) (1999-2009)
* Barbara W. Kaufmann (1977-1985)
* Eugene B. Kaufmann (Senior Director) (1956-1976) (1976-1982)
Peggy M. Kirby (1999-2001)
* John Knell (1952-1962)
Theodore R. Landgraf (1976-1985)
Hedy K. Lindgren (1995-2005) (2007-2016)
Patricia R. Lindner (1990-1999)


* Frank S. Main (1948-1954)
* Lloyd H. Markel (1949-1953)
Susan J. McAninch (1990-1999)
* Albert D. McCoy (1972-1999)
* W.L. “Les” McCullough (Senior Director) (1948-1977)
John H. McEachern, Jr. (1984-1997)
John F. McKee (1975-1999)
V. Gregory McKnight (2001-2008)
* M.W. Meyer (1995-2003)
Frank R. Miller (2006-2015)
* James E. Milroy (1948-1951)
Calvin R. Myers (1997-2007)
Gilbert R. Nary (1986-1994)
Katherine Navota (2007-2016)
Robert J. O’Connor (2007-2016)
Mary Clark Ormond (1979-1999)
* Neal Ormond
(Senior Director)
Neal Ormond III (2004-2013)
Gerald Palmer (1999-2009)
* Frank C. Paull (1948-1959)
* Richard S. Peabody (1969-1975)
* John G. Plain (1948-1952)
* Arthur L. Podolak (1948-1970)
Charles W. Ponquinette (1988-1997)
* Earl D. Power (1948-1952)
* Ralph C. Putnam, Jr.
(Senior Director)


* Thomas J. Quinn (1980-1983)
Michael Radakovich (2005-2006)
* Henry W. Rauscher (1948-1949)
* Frank R. Reid, Jr. (1948-1962)
Timothy J. Reuland (2011-2020)
Mary Ruth Roberts (1986-1998)
* Daniel J. Ruddy (1973-1989)
Thomas R. Russe (2007-2013)
Mac Salazar (1999-2009)
* Arlo L. Schilling (1998-1999)
Donald A. Schindlbeck (1975-1999)
Edward H. Schmitt, Jr. (2007-2016)
* J. Carl Schmitz (1948-1978)
* Walter Scott (1948-1965)
Barbara M. Sergi (2016-2018)
William B. Skoglund (1998-2008)
* H.B. Spackman (1952-1957)
David M. Stamps (1989-1996)
* Harry B. Stoner (1964-1976)
Duane D. Suits (2017-Present)
* Warren L. Taylor (1962-1978)
Mark E. Truemper (1997-2007)


* Louis N. Vago (1977-1999)
Cheryl Vonhoff (2020-Present)
* Frank Voris
(Senior Director)
Frank K. Voris (1978-1997)
Ralph D. Voris (1997-2009)
Scott Voris (2013-Present)
Richard W. Wake (1996-2005)
* Earl T. Weeks (1951-1953)
Peter K. Whinfrey (1997-2007)
* Donna J. Williams (2011-2014)
Kyle D. Witt (2008-2017)
* Charles P. Wright (1948-1956)

As a first-generation college student from a low-income family, I was worried about how I was going to pay for books and supplies. This scholarship will allow me to focus more on my studies instead of worrying about how to afford college. I am working to not only create opportunities for myself but to motivate future generations. Thank you so much for helping me along this journey!

Moises J.

Claude & Alice Allen Memorial Scholarship Recipient

Being a part of the Community Foundation scholarship committee is the highlight of my year. For many, a scholarship from the Community Foundation is the reason they are able to continue reaching for their dreams and changing the future of our world. I hope each recipient knows just how inspirational they are to those of us who are lucky enough to read their stories.

Jessica Breugelmans

Board Member & Scholarship Committee Member

We chose the Community Foundation because of its reputation. It’s well known, established and we can trust them to do the job for us.

Dick Schindel

Richard and Susan Schindel Scholarship Funds

Thank you very much for supporting my college education for these four years. I will never be able to repay you for the opportunity that this scholarship has given to me.

Julia H.

[Renewing Scholarship Recipient] Graduate of Hinkley-Big Rock High School

A community foundation is a donor-driven organization that helps donors custom-design funds that reflect their charitable interests. Through the years, grants from these funds have made a significant impact on our local communities.

Sharon Stredde

President Emeritus

…you can always start small, even $25 can make a difference. Remember we can’t take our money with us. Even if it’s just your gift of time. Volunteer and get involved.

Cris Anderson

Cristina & Thomas S. Anderson Endowment Fund | Tom & Cris Anderson Colonial Advisory Fund

Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”