Skip to content

New Members Elected to Community Foundation Board of Directors

The Beacon-News

Community Foundation Names Three To Board

Three new members have been named to the board of directors of the Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley.

Joining the board are Jane W. Harris, Timothy J. Reuland and Donna J. Williams. They replace Daniel Barreiro, Marilyn A. Foote and Robert P. Hubbard, who have completed their terms on the board.

Reuland_Timothy_2.5 Williams_Donna_2.5 Harris_Jane_2.5

Harris, of Geneva, has served on the Community Foundation Scholarship Committee for two years. She is a graduate of West Aurora High School and has a master’s degree in adult/continuing education from Northern Illinois University. Harris was an elementary school teacher before becoming a career specialist at Geneva High School.The Community Foundation administers charitable funds that provide grants and scholarships to residents of the Aurora area, Tri-Cities and Kendall County.

She has been on the board of TriCity Family Services and a volunteer for the Delnor Hospital Auxiliary, Geneva schools and Geneva Forum for Art and Education.

Reuland, a lifelong Auroran, has a law degree from Northwestern University School of Law. He has practiced law in Aurora for 35 years, specializing in civil litigation.

Reuland co-founded the Kane County Legal Aid Society, which was later incorporated into Prairie State Legal Services. In 2004, he received the Kane County Bar Association’s Community Service Award for his broad-based involvement in the community.

Williams, also a lifelong Auroran, is a graduate of East Aurora High School and Northern Illinois University, where she earned both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education.

She taught at Nicholson Elementary School in the West Aurora School District for 34 years, and then was principal for five years at the Quad County Urban League’s alternative school for East and West Aurora middle school students.

Williams is a board member of the Aurora Civic Center Authority, one of the senior leaders of Main Baptist Church and has been on the boards of the Aurora Historical Society and the Aurora YWCA.

The Community Foundation also elected new officers at its recent meeting: Neal Ormond III of Aurora, chairman; Mark E. Truemper of Naperville, vice chairman; Sharon Stredde of Aurora, corporate secretary; and William B. Skoglund of Sugar Grove, treasurer.

Visit or call 630-896-7800.

As a first-generation college student from a low-income family, I was worried about how I was going to pay for books and supplies. This scholarship will allow me to focus more on my studies instead of worrying about how to afford college. I am working to not only create opportunities for myself but to motivate future generations. Thank you so much for helping me along this journey!

Moises J.

Claude & Alice Allen Memorial Scholarship Recipient

We chose the Community Foundation because of its reputation. It’s well known, established and we can trust them to do the job for us.

Dick Schindel

Richard and Susan Schindel Scholarship Funds

Thank you very much for supporting my college education for these four years. I will never be able to repay you for the opportunity that this scholarship has given to me.

Julia H.

[Renewing Scholarship Recipient] Graduate of Hinkley-Big Rock High School

…you can always start small, even $25 can make a difference. Remember we can’t take our money with us. Even if it’s just your gift of time. Volunteer and get involved.

Cris Anderson

Cristina & Thomas S. Anderson Endowment Fund | Tom & Cris Anderson Colonial Advisory Fund

A community foundation is a donor-driven organization that helps donors custom-design funds that reflect their charitable interests. Through the years, grants from these funds have made a significant impact on our local communities.

Sharon Stredde

President Emeritus

There’s no question in my mind that the scholarship I received opened up possibilities.

Marianne Renner

Past Scholarship Recipient & Current Leadership Coach

Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”

Accessibility Toolbar