Skip to content

Aurora Area Retired Teachers’ Association Scholarship Endowment Fund

Established 2010

aurora_area_retired_teacher.jpgThe Aurora Area Retired Teachers’ Association (AARTA) has been working for retired teachers in Kane County for over fifty years.

Due to their continued interest in education, members of the AARTA created the Aurora Area Retired Teachers’ Association Scholarship Fund in 2010 to assist students attending a two-year college, or a professional, trade or vocational school. In 2016, the fund was established as an endowment.

Eligibility is restricted to students who reside within the Community Foundation service area and within the boundaries of the following school districts: East Aurora 131, West Aurora 129, Kaneland 302, Batavia 101, Geneva 304 or St. Charles 303.

This fund also provides a meaningful way to honor the lives of former members of the Aurora Area Retired Teachers’ Association who have passed away.

Following are the names of those who are being so honored.

  • Barbara Adkins
  • Lawrence “Stan” Adolph
  • Marion Keeley Anderson
  • Identa Austin
  • Mary Barbee
  • Bruno Bartoszek
  • Hershel Benberry
  • Martha “Marti” Berg
  • Richard “Buck” Bolen
  • Norma Jean Bowers
  • Rosemary Brewick
  • Diane Brown
  • Renee Bulatek
  • Mary Cassidy
  • Marjorie Chadwell
  • Virginia Cotter
  • Florence Covelli
  • Joanne Cryer
  • Virginia Cyr
  • John Daraban
  • Hubert Davis
  • Susan Davis
  • Lowell Dehart
  • Donald Dillenburg
  • Mary Jean Earl
  • Marlisa Ebeling
  • Nell Evans
  • Isla “Tish” Evers
  • Wilman Favero
  • Richard Fisher
  • Wilma Fitzpatrick
  • Steve Fitzsimons
  • Russ Forrer
  • Lloyd Gannegan
  • Thomas Garrey
  • John Graham
  • Kirk Harding, Jr.
  • Richard Harrison
  • Carol Hatcher
  • Grace Hines
  • Thomas Holak
  • LaRee Jacobson
  • Roger Jacobson
  • Anne Janicene
  • Florence Johnson
  • Lloyd Jones
  • Marjorie Jordan
  • Thomas Karich
  • Beverly King
  • Laura “Eileen” King
  • Anne Langan
  • Patricia Lee
  • Dorothy Libner
  • Raymond Libner
  • Esther Lindahl
  • Mary C. Mahoney
  • Eleanor Main
  • Yvonne McElroy
  • Lorraine McKnight
  • Lorna Springer Morrison
  • Barbara Morrow
  • Jane Myers
  • Allan W. Neitzel
  • Ed Nelson
  • Robert Nelson
  • Donald Nylin
  • Gregory Oakes
  • Evelyn Oncken
  • Anne Padavic
  • Susan Paddock
  • Nancy Parkin
  • Elnora “Beth” Pettit-Conover
  • Barbara Pielet
  • Lawrence Pinnow
  • James Pittman
  • Richard Phillips
  • David “Dusty” Rhoads
  • Mary Robinson
  • Sam Rotolo
  • Anna Sanford
  • Lois Scott
  • Clarence William Spence, Jr.
  • Geraldine Stanford
  • Donald Straughn
  • Margaret “Peg” Steinhebel
  • William Sweeney
  • Bernice Thomas
  • Evelyn Thompson
  • Karen Towers
  • James Valesano
  • Arnold Verbic
  • Janice Vernol
  • John Williams
  • Carol Winkley
  • Marilyn Wolf
  • John Wrendling
  • Barbara Yusunas
  • Bella Zidell
  • Douglas Zolper

A community foundation is a donor-driven organization that helps donors custom-design funds that reflect their charitable interests. Through the years, grants from these funds have made a significant impact on our local communities.

Sharon Stredde

President Emeritus

As a first-generation college student from a low-income family, I was worried about how I was going to pay for books and supplies. This scholarship will allow me to focus more on my studies instead of worrying about how to afford college. I am working to not only create opportunities for myself but to motivate future generations. Thank you so much for helping me along this journey!

Moises J.

Claude & Alice Allen Memorial Scholarship Recipient

There’s no question in my mind that the scholarship I received opened up possibilities.

Marianne Renner

Past Scholarship Recipient & Current Leadership Coach

We chose the Community Foundation because of its reputation. It’s well known, established and we can trust them to do the job for us.

Dick Schindel

Richard and Susan Schindel Scholarship Funds

Thank you very much for supporting my college education for these four years. I will never be able to repay you for the opportunity that this scholarship has given to me.

Julia H.

[Renewing Scholarship Recipient] Graduate of Hinkley-Big Rock High School

…you can always start small, even $25 can make a difference. Remember we can’t take our money with us. Even if it’s just your gift of time. Volunteer and get involved.

Cris Anderson

Cristina & Thomas S. Anderson Endowment Fund | Tom & Cris Anderson Colonial Advisory Fund

Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”

Accessibility Toolbar